How To Set Process Goals To Win [505]

motivational_quotes_11

What do you want to happen in your upcoming performance?

Do you want to win? Do you want to finish in a certain time? Do you want to hit a specific number of reps? Do you want to be in the top 10? Do you want to make it to the next stage in competition?

Score, time, placement, weight, and reps are all OUTCOMES. They are all results that come from your actions. Sure, it’s helpful to embrace your desires and to understand what you want to happen in your performance. But, are you missing the most important steps? Are you so focused on the outcome you want, that you’re not thinking about what you have to do to make it happen?

Before each performance, think through what you want to do DURING your performance, HOW you want to at attack it and what your process goals are.

Examples of Process Goals (that will support your outcome goals) 

Keep the bar in my hands the entire set

Stare at the wall right in front of me the whole set

Count down each of my reps outloud

Set myself up for each lift the same way every time

Look to my coach for advice after each lift

Get my hands right on the ground to do my burpees

Take less than :03 on each transition

Drive my elbows and chest up out of each squat

Take 10 lunge steps without resting

Stop and take 3 deep breaths after any failed or missed rep

Smile if I start to have negative thoughts when it gets really hard

Rest at the top of each snatch for a breath before I continue to cycle

Keep my legs together during my kips

Nod my head, and tell myself “I can” if my plan is starting to fall apart

 

Do you see how these goals are specific to whatever sport you’re competing in and are they’re focused on your form, fundamentals, strategies and techniques?

Process goals help you focus on the actions you must take to properly execute the movements during your training or competitions. When you want to achieve a certain outcome, you’ve gotta focus on what you can control in your performance in order to give yourself the best chance of achieving those goals.

Try it out this week. Each time you get to the gym (or compete), make a few key process goals for each workout.

 

Related Post: 3 Things To Focus On Instead of Your Goals

 

Have you gone through The Mental Edge Program yet? It’s specifically for CrossFitters, and athletes at EVERY level will benefit.

Mental Edge

Leave a Reply

